Keyword

Design considerations

• Chaz Steadman
  • Chaz Steadman's Avatar Topic Author
More
12 years 10 months ago #59984 by Chaz Steadman
Design considerations was created by Chaz Steadman
This is more of a discussion than a question. I'm not an artist and I'm not very smart. I'm just hoping that when I design my site that it makes sense.

We all want to do a good job with the presentation of our websites, or those we do for others.

The question that I ask myself first is, what is the purpose of my site? Is it going to be international, national or local? Is it a product or a service?

Next, I ask myself, from a VISITOR'S point of view, what do I want from the site?

Graphics don't get you search engine rankings, content does. The exception to this is the new social media/search engine mix (either thru Bing or Google, I don't remember which), that ranks your site higher based on how many PEOPLE, not robots, 'Like' your site.

Common sense in your design can go a long way in having people relate to your site. Too much artwork, and your visitors get on their ponies and head for the next corral to find the CONTENT that they're looking for. Too many technical words, and your visitors don't understand your material. Whoa, horsie! Gotta get on and head out.

As an example of that - I went to work for a company in '98 that had the engineer doing the website. Very little graphics and I didn't understand what the company did, based on all the techie words on the website. Next, they had an artist do the website, and I couldn't understand what the company did, based on the fact that the artwork did not match the words. So, SOMEWHERE over the rainbow (between the two), skies are blue.

How many of us know what Usability Studies are? (How user friendly a site is.) Is your content specific to a specific industry or trade, or are your visitors just poking around for some general info that will help them accomplish their goal (whatever that may be).