Keyword

Templates and K2 templates

More
12 years 4 months ago #66372 by Rina
Templates and K2 templates was created by Rina
Hi,

As mentioned already in previous post I am new to Joomla. I have a conceptual question about templates: I understand there are Joomla! templates and there are K2 templates. I think that this is what their role/scope is, and will appreciate receiving feedback of weather those statements are correct:

1. A Joomla! template is required for any website. There are some default templates provided and one can get other templates from different providers(free or commercial). There is nothing like a site without a Joomla! template.
2. K2 templates, are the same as K2 sub-templates and they control the layout of specific items/articles. There is a default set of sub-templates and one can create customized sets as he wishes. I did not see that there are sub-templates to get on websites as you can with Joomla! templates. Is it because sub-templates are so easy to do or they very specific?

I can also see that there is inheritence going on in the way that articles are presented- titles styles of sub-templates can inherit from the main template.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Kannan Naidu Venugopal
  • Platinum Member
  • Aham Brahmasmi
More
12 years 4 months ago #66373 by Kannan Naidu Venugopal
Replied by Kannan Naidu Venugopal on topic Re: Templates and K2 templates
Hi Rina,

The way i understand is, you can easily override a K2 template, meaning you can control the layout of a category, it's items, modules and etc. You can control the layout easily with a template override or by setting the category item parameters.

When you install Joomla, it gives you a few template to choose and when you install K2 it gives you a default template. You can choose to edit or customize the default K2 layout or css file or install 3rd party templates that overrides K2 displays to match their template theme.