Keyword

How to display username instead of full name

More
14 years 8 months ago #78894 by Trond
Most users in my community do not want to have their full name displayed. How can I change K2 to display ONLY username and never full name? They do not want to share e-mail addresses with each other either so I must be able to hide this.Thanks in advance!Trond :-)

Oslo, Norway.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 8 months ago #78895 by HomesteadMommy
Replied by HomesteadMommy on topic How to display username instead of full name
I'm new to K2 but the only 2 ways I know of are to set up a user and enter just a first name or alias in the name place.

Or when you go to publish your article, enter an author alias under author and publishing stats. To hide the email addresses you can disable that in the category or posts author options.

The first option would work well if people are likely to forget to change it when posting.

More
14 years 7 months ago #78896 by Trond
Hi!

Using only first name is not a good solution and the other one will generate to much support.
Is there a workaround for this one? I would like to link username back to Jomsocial as the best alternative if possible.

Oslo, Norway.

More
14 years 7 months ago #78897 by bkemler
Replied by bkemler on topic How to display username instead of full name
You'll have to change it in multiple places- it's not something that can be universally changed in one spot.

For displaying author usernames on the items they've written, you can change that in the templates. For example, in /templates/yourjoomlatemplate/html/com_k2/templates/yourk2template/item.php change

echo $this->item->author->name;
to
echo $this->item->author->username;

If you're using SH404SEF, you'll also need to change it in the k2 set_ext file.

I don't use comments so I couldn't tell you where to change it for that.

Trond said:Hi!