Keyword

Menu Item restriction based on K2 user group

• Amy Sheffer
  • Amy Sheffer's Avatar Topic Author
More
14 years 2 months ago #86183 by Amy Sheffer
I will have several clients who will have access to restricted content. Once they are logged in, I need a specific client to see only the content that relates to them.I had hoped that setting up a K2 user group for each client and restricting access to a specific K2 category would keep the user from seeing another client's K2 Items.I have a Joomla mod_mainmenu called "Client Menu" which has links to each client's K2 items. I would like to restrict the menu items in the menu so that only the menu items that link to the client's K2 items are visible to that client.Is there a mod for this? I am a PHP developer, so I can edit code myself. But, I would love to find a mod or plugin. If I need to edit the code myself, can someone point me in the right direction? I am sure I am not the only person who has hoped for this functionality.Thank you!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 1 month ago #86184 by Simon Wells
Replied by Simon Wells on topic Menu Item restriction based on K2 user group
The way I do this, is to create a category for each user, that way, in the user group you can limit access to just that category.
Then through the menu, you link to the category they have access to with permission set to registered..

No non-registered can then see the menu and the menu tem can only be accessed by that user.

I hope that helps a little.

Simon
K2 Support

• Amy Sheffer
More
14 years 1 month ago #86185 by Amy Sheffer
Replied by Amy Sheffer on topic Menu Item restriction based on K2 user group
I don't know why I didn't think of that. Your suggestion is quick and easy. Thank you for sending it along. I ended up making a new menu for each client and using MetaMod to control access based on user.