Keyword

How do you change the comments form to say "Leave a Review" instead???

• Randy Mullins
  • Randy Mullins's Avatar Topic Author
More
13 years 2 months ago #98906 by Randy Mullins
I'm new to Joomla and K2 but am familiar with PHP sites

I'm trying to use K2 for my product catalog.

I want the comments form at the bottom of each item page to be used for "reviews".

So where it says "Leave a comment", I need it to say, "Leave a review".

How do I accomplish this?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 years 1 month ago #98907 by william white
Look at YourSiteRoot/Components/com_k2/templates/default/Item_comments_form.php line 14 in k2 2.4.1

• Randy Mullins
More
13 years 1 month ago #98908 by Randy Mullins
Thanks a bunch, William, but I tried that already and it doesn't seem to have any affect on the page.

I just realized that the comments system isn't even working - when I try to submit a comment, the spinning graphic just shows up and nothing else happens. So I may have bigger issues that just changing the text. I'm running this on a local WAMP server, but I don't see how that would change anything.

What would help me is to understand what this line of code is doing, and others like it:

JText::_('K2_LEAVE_A_COMMENT')"

Is the text "K2_LEAVE_A_COMMENT" some sort of variable or object? Is there a 'variables.ini' file somewhere that defines what the output actually will be? If that text produces "Leave a Comment" on the page, then some additional processing is happening.

I see a lot of these "JText::" echoes, what is that doing? Is it some sort of augmented string output?

Thanks for taking the time to try and help me with this issue. I really do appreciate it.

Randy

William White said:

Look at YourSiteRoot/Components/com_k2/templates/default/Item_comments_form.php line 14 in k2 2.4.1

More
13 years 1 month ago #98909 by william white
Just try changing the text inside the single quotes

for info on jtext see here