Keyword

Advantages / disadvantages of using K2?

• nigratruo
  • nigratruo's Avatar Topic Author
More
12 years 1 day ago #104558 by nigratruo
Advantages / disadvantages of using K2? was created by nigratruo
Hi,

I'm new to K2 and like what it has to offer, but am wondering what kind of disadvantages I will face by using it. I'm sure there must be any and I depending what they are, I can deal with it, but need to know before hand.

I currently run a site with Jooms 2.5, publishing articles and stories, where users currently cannot log in or participate. With K2 I would like to change this and make it possible for users to comment on posts.

I have heard that K2 makes some extensions incompatible, so that might be a concern, as I plan to implement a for pay / membership section in the future.
Also, I wonder if the change is reversible, can I go back to standard Joomla if I experience problems that I cannot solve with K2?

I know that any software has good and bad points, so you don't have to sugar coat anything, I'm very realistic and won't disqualify it due to bad points, but understandably I want to hear of them BEFORE I convert over to K2, not afterwards and I will likely find out later anyway, as I want to grow the site quite a bit still. Is there a competing framework system, what is your opinion about that one?

So far I have to say that I love the feature list that K2 has, offering lots of functions that Joomla should have, but does not. I would prefer to extend Joomla with a whole framework like K2, instead of have to cobble it together with tons of different extensions.

I'm grateful for any pointers.

Thanks,

Nigra

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• nigratruo
More
11 years 11 months ago #104559 by nigratruo
Replied by nigratruo on topic Re: Advantages / disadvantages of using K2?
*BUMP*
Nobody?

Not one reply in a newbie forum about a very simple question in 6 days?

More
11 years 11 months ago #104560 by william white