Keyword

images blurry

• Steve Vick
  • Steve Vick's Avatar Topic Author
More
11 years 5 months ago #112609 by Steve Vick
images blurry was created by Steve Vick
Hi,
I have set my image quality to 100%. I have set all my image sizes, xsmall (80px) through to my xlarge (300px). (I know my xlarge is not that large).

I have searched the web for answers but could find anything useful. I have experimented with all the parameters but I still cannot get a good image quality to show up for my items. See site here: test.awg2014.org/index.php/raavees-locker

Also, even though my xlarge is set to 300px, when I click on an item, the image is still HUGE.

I am not a novice developer, so if I need to tweak some code that is fine. But I am just amazed at how poor the image quality is.

Hope someone can help.

Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 5 months ago #112610 by Eric
Replied by Eric on topic Re: images blurry
your images are being scaled to multiple times there size, looks like your 80px, is being scaled (enlarged) to 158px, and your 120px, is being scaled to 660px, i'd suggest, upping the image settings by quite a bit

300px for xlarge is quite tiny, i wouldn't really even consider that med.. i'd think with xlarge you'll want atleast 700px

the images scale up and down with the screen res. of the end user, so it's better to set it nice and high and then have the page scale it down to the needs of the end user (at a screen res. of 1280x960, your 120x120 is being scaled up to 840x840, that's 7x bigger making for major major blur)

what you set the res. to in the backend doesn't mean that much cause whatever screen res. the person visiting your store has will determine the size

i like to modify things, and make them do unintended things

• Steve Vick
More
11 years 5 months ago - 11 years 5 months ago #112611 by Steve Vick
Replied by Steve Vick on topic Re: images blurry