Keyword

Only use specific fields in user profile

More
10 years 2 weeks ago #131993 by Wendy
I'm relatively new to K2. I am trying to create a setup where people registering and logging in from a certain page will be able to enter/edit their user profile. I want the user profile to have *only* specific fields that I define. This includes information like education, country, details about their practice, certain professional numbers, etc, as well as name and email.

These users will be taking online courses we offer, although they will be available to anyone (registered or not). I want to offer users the option to register and login so that the course form can grab their user info from the profile, for our records, and that way they don't have to enter it again and again for every course they take.

I thought K2 might help me do this but so far I can't get it to work. I have created a User Field Group and have added a bunch of User Fields to that group. I have also created a User Group and assigned one test account to it.

The first problem is that I don't know how to link the User Field Group and its Fields to that User Group or its users. When I login as the test user account and click "My Account", I only see what seems to be the default Joomla (and K2?) user profile fields (address, avatar, description, etc). Most of these fields are not what I want them to use. I would rather display *only* the fields relevant to those users in their profiles.

The second problem is that none of the K2 defined fields are showing up at all in the "My Account" profile edit page. I have no idea how to link them to the profile edit and there doesn't seem to be any documentation about this.